About AFUM

Image of Mt. Katahdin, the highest point in Maine and a sacred place of the Wabanaki peoples on whose land our university campuses sit. Copyright Greg Hartford, AcadiaMagic.com.

AFUM would like to thank Greg Hartford of AcadiaMagic.com for his permission to use his wonderful Maine photos on this site.

AFUM is a labor union that represents the full time faculty of The University of Maine System (UMS), which comprises the University of Southern Maine (USM), The University of Maine at Farmington (UMF), The University of Maine at Augusta (UMA), The University of Maine at Machias (UMM), The University of Maine (UM), The University of Maine at Presque Isle (UMPI), the University of Maine at Fort Kent (UMFK), and Cooperative Extension (CE). A member of both the National Education Association (NEA) and the Maine Education Association (MEA), AFUM is the exclusive bargaining unit for full time faculty in the University of Maine System.

Land Acknowledgment:

AFUM recognizes that our university campuses are located in the homelands of the Wabanaki Tribal Nations—the Penobscot, Passamaquoddy, Maliseet, and Micmac—who are all connected to one another through kinship, alliances, and diplomacy.  AFUM also recognizes that the Wabanaki Tribal Nations are distinct, sovereign, legal and political entities with their own powers of self-governance and self-determination, and that issues of water and territorial rights, and encroachment upon sacred sites, are ongoing.

%d bloggers like this: